Make a donation

Author Topic: MK5 newbie questions  (Read 1691 times)

Offline Syrag64

• Always Involved
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 3
    • Email
MK5 newbie questions
« on: July 01, 2010, 01:43:02 pm »
I'm new to mk5 ownership (but have modded mk3's before) I have some ideas but not sure if they would work the same as on a mk3 (if you get what i mean?)

1) Can i de-lock the drivers door handle with a rear handle?

2) I want to change to better lights (hid?) is it best to buy original hid headlights or can i just get the conversion kits (if so where is the best place to get them?)

3) I want better brakes (fast road use) what is the easiest/best vfm upgrade? I'm after plug & play if poss?

4) More power - not doing track days just fast road use - best vfm upgrade?

That will do for now, i've done a search of the forum and have some ideas but would appreciate other members ideas?

Thanks  :smiley:
Black 2007 GTI Manual, Stage 3 K04, R32 Bumper/Exhaust, WALK, adj rear ARB, KW1's, Twintercooler, Twintake, 18's (winters), 19's (summer) modified dectane LED rear lights, NQSBBK, Forge dump valve, Xenon look headlights with 5000k HID, 3" downpipe with sports cat, TT wishbones, uprated HPFP, Sach Uprated Clutch, Quaife LSD, VT & THS Engine Mounts.
To be fitted: Reverse Camera & uprated headunit.

Future plans: De-dent & Detail

Offline CarrG

• Won't Shut up.
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 17
Re: MK5 newbie questions
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2010, 02:06:13 pm »

Hi and welcome,

3, R32/S3/Cupra 345mm front discs and caliper are a good vfm upgrade.
4, Simple remap will see good vfm gains.

Not sure on the lights or delock.  :happy2:
K1 Revo 2+
Ibis RS3
VW California 180 DSG "Candy"!

Offline Syrag64

• Always Involved
  • Thank You
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2010, 03:24:05 pm »

Hi and welcome,

3, R32/S3/Cupra 345mm front discs and caliper are a good vfm upgrade.
4, Simple remap will see good vfm gains.