Make a donation

Author Topic: Wheely startin' somethin'  (Read 2539 times)

Offline Marty

• Taking part
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
    • Email
Wheely startin' somethin'
« on: August 09, 2010, 05:19:02 am »
Hi guys,

Ok, I have had my candy white '08 GTI for a month now and am already feeling an itch needs to be scratched. I blame all of you! Yes, you!

First a disclaimer, I'm totally new to this so please go easy if I ask stupid questions.
At the moment the car is all stock. The first thing I'm looking at is changing the wheels from the standard 17"s to 18"s. I am usually a very OEM kind of guy but due to a number of white GTRs and what looks like an M3 Competition that have black rims, I can feel myself being drawn to the dark side.
I have done a search and found Redrobin's posts from this time last year where he got some OZ Alleggeritas (in titanium if I remember right) which look beautiful. I also like the look of the Ultras and the Superturismo GTs.
OK, so questions:
1. Does anyone have any pics of black alloys on a stock car? (with the black side skirts etc). I've only found them on ED30s. I will probably have the skirts changed to white to match anyway but I can't afford it all in one go.
2. Are alloys that come under the banner of 'race' also okay for everyday road use?
3. I assume if you up the wheels to 18" that you don't have to change the spare as the rolling radius stays the same with the lower profile tyres? (Very stupid question?)

Thank you for your advice,
Marty

Offline LouCyffer

• Won't Shut up.
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 36
  • -Receive: 63
Re: Wheely startin' somethin'
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2010, 07:03:28 am »
Welcome Marty.

1. There are photos of CW cars with black alloys. Try in members rides section, or go to the Candy White thread and browse.