Make a donation

Author Topic: What did you and your MKV do today?  (Read 2689982 times)

Offline Grevling89

• Just Arrived
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
    • Email
Re: What did you and your MKV do today?
« Reply #12570 on: January 30, 2023, 08:02:00 pm »
So when changing drop links for the MOT I found an old PCV valve in the front bumper, owned the car two years and even had a cambelt change at VW and never been picked up before or heard a thing while driving.

Free PCV valve! Wohoo!
2007 MK V - Pearl Black - 5 door - Happily stock

Offline smilespergallon

• Always Involved
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
« Reply #12571 on: January 30, 2023, 09:39:01 pm »
I changed the fuel filter on my Edition 30 today.

I've never done it before, and there were a number of threads on this forum that I found helpful when it came to replacing it, so I thought I'd share my experience.

Why did you change the fuel filter?

The car is 15 years old, and I've owned it for 10 years, and there was no record of the fuel filter having been changed at any point.

The fuel filter is not a serviceable item according to Volkswagen. However, a number of people have said they experienced an improvement after replacing it, so I thought I'd give it a go.

How did you change the fuel filter?

The fuel filter is just in front of the rear-right wheel underneath the car. It's a small metal cylinder. It's connected by 3 rubber hoses (2 at the back and 1 at the front), and it sits inside a plastic bracket. So removing it is just a matter of disconnecting the 3 hoses, and unscrewing a single screw for the bracket. Installing the new one is the reverse. Easy enough.

To get access to the fuel filter I jacked up the car at the rear-right wheel. Annoyingly the pinch weld is pretty much in line with the fuel filter, which means the axle stand gets in your way a bit, so for easier access I took the wheel off.