Make a donation

Author Topic: My 2006 Mk5 GTi DSG  (Read 3065 times)

Offline JonnyFairlie

• Can't Read PM's Yet!
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 1
  • Mk5 Golf GTi
    • Email
My 2006 Mk5 GTi DSG
« on: April 19, 2016, 06:42:42 pm »
I'm new to the world of forums but from what I've seen so far this is a very valuable resource, and everyone is so nice and complimentary regarding each others rides, which is something I am not used to! but it's great that there's a place where like-minded dub guys can converse in peace. Someone suggested I post more pictures of my car, so here they are.

So far I've spent a fair whack on both repairs and modifications as it wasn't in the best nick when I picked him up. First on the agenda was:
- Fuel pump
- DSG service
- Nearside front and offside rear wheel bearings
- Bonnet painted
- Corrosion on front wings repaired under VW warranty
- Original 17 inch Monzas all needed a refurb, which they were in Audi grey

I have a sneaky suspicion (based on the badly repaired damage on the bumper, cheap and ugly aftermarket headlamps and the fact there's a big dent in the radiator) that the car was in a front end smash at some point in its' life. I replaced the lights with much nicer Delphi numbers.
We also suspect that the car was mapped by the previous owner, but god knows where.

Modifications so far:
- K&N Typhoon induction kit
- Full Decat (rest of the system to be replaced with either an Akrapovic item or a custom made system)
- Red coil packs
- MTEC discs all round (IMO these aren't much of a performance upgrade, but look much better)
- Tein Street Advance coilovers
- Obviously, those big ass 3SDM 0.05s

In the near future we'll be getting a big FMIC on there and hopefully go straight to a stage 2 revo map, I probably won't go further because we all know those pesky DSG boxes don't like crazy power.