Make a donation

Author Topic: Help with headunit upgrade  (Read 1925 times)

Offline rf860

• Always Involved
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 12
  • -Receive: 4
Help with headunit upgrade
« on: January 27, 2013, 08:12:54 pm »
Hi guys, i'm new to the VW scene having come from a BMW. I have bought a ED30 with the RCD500 headunit however, i'd like to upgrade to something a bit more modern.

I've read a lot of threads the last few days about this topic and tbh, i'm none the wiser!

Ideally, i'm looking to upgrade to the rns 510 unit. I'm not wanting sat nav, my phone meets all my needs in that department however, i would like bluetooth.

Could somebody please list out what i need for me to get this up and running in my car? My car doesn't have s/w controls, if that makes any difference.

Also, what the rough cost of this upgrade would be?

Thanks in advance. Ross!

Offline Moz

• Always Involved
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 24
  • -Receive: 11
    • Email
Re: Help with headunit upgrade
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2013, 09:33:28 pm »
Hi guys, i'm new to the VW scene having come from a BMW. I have bought a ED30 with the RCD500 headunit however, i'd like to upgrade to something a bit more modern.

I've read a lot of threads the last few days about this topic and tbh, i'm none the wiser!

Ideally, i'm looking to upgrade to the rns 510 unit. I'm not wanting sat nav, my phone meets all my needs in that department however, i would like bluetooth.

Could somebody please list out what i need for me to get this up and running in my car? My car doesn't have s/w controls, if that makes any difference.

Thanks in advance. Ross!

Be cheaper to get an RCD 510 with a bluetooth kit than an RNS510

Offline rf860

• Always Involved
  • Thank You
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2013, 09:52:35 pm »
ok thanks. is the rns model for sat nav?

sorry if this seems obvious to you lot but to me its confusing!

Offline MC71

• Just look at my post count
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 413
  • -Receive: 427
  • Mk7 R