Make a donation

Author Topic: What steps can I skip?  (Read 1083 times)

Offline hakko

• Just Arrived
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
What steps can I skip?
« on: April 13, 2013, 01:34:00 pm »
Hey Guys,

I'm new to detailing and aim to start the process with just a few steps and master them before moving on to others. I don't want to jump in and try all together and make a mess!

So, with this  graphic in mind what steps can I skip?

Today i'm thinking of going with 1-wash and something else. The car surface seems decent and doesn't appear to have much crap on it, so I don't think I need to clay.

I'd like to be able to bring up a decent shine to give me some motivation to keep doing it? What product would you guys suggest for this and what step would it fit into?

Cheers.

I promise i'll post some before/after pics too.. :)

Offline torque777

• Won't Shut up.
  • Thank You
  • -Receive: 12
Re: Re: What steps can I skip?
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2013, 01:49:19 pm »
I would two a two bucket wash everytime ....then if you haven't polished and waxed for a bit then definitely clay her and make sure you have no tar on bodywork then you can just polish and wax by hand for now ...I like to use poorboys show glaze and natty paste wax and I also use blit hamper clay ...also use some AG products ...check out also autobrite products and valet pro all very good ....if you want good guides then type in junkman2000 into YouTube ...brilliant videos and you won't go far wrong following him 8)

sent using my own fingers

Offline DFish

• Always Involved
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 14
Re: What steps can I skip?
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2013, 01:54:01 pm »
After you wash the car run the palm of your hand over the paint work, if it's silky smooth then you dont need to clay. If you feel little bumps almost grit like, then you really need to clay.