Make a donation

Author Topic: My first GTI - In fact my first VW!!  (Read 3928 times)

Offline JVS

• Taking part
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
My first GTI - In fact my first VW!!
« on: August 11, 2009, 03:18:47 pm »
I've had my first VW, a MkV GTI in Tornado Red, for about one month now.

It's a 56 plate, just coming up to three years old with 19.5k miles on the clock.

Although an import, I chose this one because of its fantastic spec, it's got a fully colour coded body, xenons, sunroof, DSG, electric seats, rear parking aid, 18" R32 wheels, folding/dimming mirrors, MF steering wheel, cruise control and a CD six pack.

I paid £13.9k for it from an independent dealer. It seems good value but I'm no expert on used GTI values - similar ones (but with less extras) in VWdealers seemed to be in the region of £18k - £20k. Interestingly, the V5 says it was first registered in the UK but the sevice book contains a PDI stamp from a dealer in Dubai. I'm not quite sure how that works!

The car is in exceptional condition and I love the drive, however, mechanically it has been far from trouble free.........

When I went to pick it up there was an intermitent starter problem. The local VW dealer in Altrincham had severe difficulties solving the problem so I had to wait a further two weeks for a return visit to collect it. On the return 200 mile trip the Aircon packed up requiring a new compressor. Then about a week later it went onto three cylinders - new coil and plugs this time. Finally, (I very much hope!) about a week ago the computer menu button on the s/wheel stopped working!! I haven't had this looked at yet.

So, all of you GTI experts, the big question is: Have I bought a lemon? or are all these failures normal on a 2 years 9 month old GTi with under 20k on the clock?

Your thoughts would be appreciated.

Offline Deako

• Just look at my post count
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 38
  • -Receive: 44
  • Eat, Sleep....VAG