Make a donation

Author Topic: air con not blowing cold air  (Read 881 times)

Offline h45gti

• Always Involved
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 3
air con not blowing cold air
« on: June 06, 2014, 06:41:54 pm »
Evening all, decided to use the aircon today, ive had the car since November 2013 so not that long I guess, bought from an indy dealer in south London, im still kind of a newbie ( learning about faults and what  things to check prior to purchasing used cars) so didn't really think of testing/using it sooner till today.

Switched on the aircon but blowing hot air ( hot day today) decided to go Halfords and buy that  "EZ chill air con regas kit" managed to find the low side air pressure bit after looking like a total noob and scratching my head in the car park, checked the pressure, it was zero, shook the can and followed the instructions to refill it, I refilled it up to the green section as stated on the instructions but still not blowing cold air

Went home to check again as it was quite noisy near the dual carriage way, and at home I could hear a hissing sound coming from near the alternator/cambelt and listened carefully and checked the pressure again and veeeerryy slowly it was dropping down on the gauge. Im no expert, I have read some forum topics etc, I reaaallly hope its not the compressor as mentioned in various forums.

if I can hear this hissing noise as gas is leaking Im assuming, it COULD just be a leak right (not the worst fault??) , is it an easy/ cheap fix? I have warranty with warranty direct, ive recently got them to fix my mechatronic unit, they contributed and I ended up paying around £350 approx opposed to the £1k bill  :fighting: and glad I got it sorted as the car is beautiful to drive having seen the difference. any advice much appreciated thanks all!  :driver:

VW Golf GTI 57reg

Offline J400uk

• Always Involved
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 27