Make a donation

Author Topic: Protecting a brand new car.  (Read 3192 times)

Offline swgti

• Always Involved
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 28
  • -Receive: 6
  • GTI owners are born not manufactured!
Protecting a brand new car.
« on: August 14, 2014, 08:20:29 am »
It's looking likely the Mrs is going to be getting a brand new Skoda Citigo shortly so when we get it i want to give the paintwork a really good long lasting protection. The dealers are already trying to sell me the Supaguard package but I've no intention of buying that and a local detailer has quoted £150 for a new car protection detail but I fancy just buying the gear and doing it myself.
I've already got (what I think is) a good range of products (polishes and waxes etc) but I've never used a proper paint sealent before and would like some advice on the best way to use it (at what stage of the process do you apply it?) and of course any recommendations.

Ta
Laser Blue 3dr No 209683, Leather, Monza II's and a few other goodies...........GONE but not forgotten......now in an A4 S-Line Avant 170tdi......god I miss the Gti.

Offline stealthwolf

• Just look at my post count
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 306
  • -Receive: 291
  • ED30 No.1412
    • Email
Re: Protecting a brand new car.
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2014, 08:42:38 am »
What do you mean by "proper paint sealant"?

You have waxes and sealants, both of which last months depending on what you use. Then you have ceramic coatings. If I were going down the route of ceramic coatings, it's worth getting it done professionally or you will probably mess things up.

The GTI isn't just a machine. It's very much a living, breathing thing.

Offline swgti

• Always Involved
  • Thank You
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2014, 09:25:42 am »