Make a donation

Author Topic: Hi new to detailing few questions..  (Read 1325 times)

Offline mrggg

• Always Involved
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 36
  • -Receive: 2
Hi new to detailing few questions..
« on: May 02, 2015, 12:53:21 pm »
 :smiley:

So ive got some products and I currently clean the car like this:

Demonshine rapid dirt shifter, leave to dwell
Pressure wash
Repeat demonshine rapid shifter if needs be
Clean alloys with meguirs gold class shampoo and conditioner
Do the same to the car Using microfibre wash mit, making sure to go in one direction and not circles
Dry the car using meguiars drying towel
Finally apply rapid detailer to the car
Finished

Obviously the car has a lot of swirl marks as Im not a pro yet and cant buy every product at once. Can anyone recommend where I can improve on in terms of my cleaning procedure, what steps should I add? What do I do wrong? Do I really need a clay bar? When I buy polish, can I do it by hand?

Thank you  :happy2:

Offline AndyBrown

• Won't Shut up.
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 23
  • -Receive: 17
    • Email
Re: Hi new to detailing few questions..
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2015, 01:30:24 pm »
I'd pressure wash first then use the demo shine stuff.

I presume your using the 2BM to clean the car?
Use a different mit for wheels and body if you're not already. Switch the microfibres mitt on the body to a lambs wool one.

You should clay it before you polish/was the car, you'll be amazed the amount of dirt that will come off if you haven't done it before. And it will prevent inflicting further swirl damage by removing dirt particles.

I recommend iron x before claying to remove any iron fall out, purple streaks run off which looks pretty cool aswell.

Have a look at the stickys at the top of the detailing section there's a couple of really good guides  :happy2:

dansmith180

Re: Hi new to detailing few questions..
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2015, 01:41:21 pm »