Make a donation

Author Topic: Divert Valve...... I think  (Read 3831 times)

Offline Isaac McElroy

• Just Arrived
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 1
    • Email
Divert Valve...... I think
« on: July 28, 2015, 09:28:42 pm »
Hello,
Im new to this folks so go easy, please.

Recently bought a MK5 golf gti, 2005 with 80,000miles. Car was clean on the outside but could tell the previous owner had neglected her a bit but thought it just needed a good service and it would be as good as new. So I have just got it serviced including timing belt, water pumper, new disks all round, new tyres etc etc. Spending a good bit of cash hoping it would sort the thing out. But nooooooooo.... Still somthing not just right with it. Nothing coming up on the computer but i know its not running like it should.

So here are the symptoms  -

+ Car seems to be loosing abit of power and is making a real hissing noise when I accelerate hard.
+ Jittery in the lower revs.
+ Idling abit funny and makes a real ticking sound.

I've just ordered a new divert valve and im hoping this will sort it out.

Really hope some kind soul on her can help and and give me some guidance..... :)

Offline Airz182

• Always Involved
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 9
    • Email
Re: Divert Valve...... I think
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2015, 11:14:15 pm »
Alright mate,  hissin sound n lose of boost does sound like the common diverter valve, as mine is doing the same,
Jittery in low revs could be coil pack maybe?
Idleing funny could possibly be pcv valve, or maf sensor tho im not 100% whether any of these could be your issues, try googling your symptoms.
Instagram- airz182

Offline Airz182

• Always Involved
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 9
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2015, 11:15:41 pm »
And loud ticking noise is the injectors i think or high pressure fuel pump, i had two guys one from vw and another from audi look at mine and both said that it was normal to sound ticky