Make a donation

Author Topic: Winter Protection Detailing  (Read 2416 times)

Offline swf7y

• Always Involved
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 9
Winter Protection Detailing
« on: October 30, 2010, 10:42:44 am »
I'm looking to get my car protected for the winter. Now, I'm actually a newbie to detailing so have been looking at getting it done by a pro. I've come accross a company called Autocare which is quite local to me (Solihull) who have quoted me £105 for the following:

1.    Rinse exterior bodywork, wheels and arches to remove loose grit
2.    Treat above with biodegradable pre wash to remove traffic film,
grease, and heavier grime.
3.    Rinse exterior bodywork, wheels and arches.
4.    Wash exterior bodywork with ph neutral shampoo and conditioner using
lambs wool wash mitt and two bucket method (buckets with grit guard)
5.    Rinse then dry bodywork with micro fiber towel.
6.    Clean wheels with non acid wheel cleaner, rinse then dry.
7.    Contamination removal bar used for paintwork to draw out tree sap,
brake dust and tar spots to leave a smooth to the touch finish.
8.    Apply by hand non wax paint work sealant allows for maximum
repellency     of dirt and reduces the static charge on your vehicle
surface.
9.    Apply wax by hand giving your car a durable protection for the
winter
10.    Alloy wheels have sealant applied by hand to protect against winter
road grime.

They will come out to my house and carry out the work.

Can anyone tell me if this is a fair price and if the above procedure will be sufficient or should I ask for anything else to be done?

Thanks

Offline stealthwolf

• Just look at my post count
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 306
  • -Receive: 291
  • ED30 No.1412
    • Email
Re: Winter Protection Detailing
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2010, 02:49:13 pm »
Simplifying those steps

1. Rinse
2. Snowfoam or TFR
3. Rinse
4. 2BM wash
5. Rinse and dry
6. Wash wheels, rinse, dry
7. Claying
8. Sealant
9. Wax
10. Wheel sealant.