Make a donation

Author Topic: Read the guide but still have questions  (Read 1570 times)

Offline Frenzy

• Won't Shut up.
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 62
  • -Receive: 29
Read the guide but still have questions
« on: July 13, 2011, 11:12:20 am »
Sorry I'm a complete noob to detailing, i want to care the best i can for my GTI and i have read Jules86's guide about 3 times and some other posts in this section. However i don't think i've got a strong enough idea in theory of what i'd supposed to be doing in practise and whether i'd have bought the correct kit for the job i had in mind of doing. The last thing i want to do is screw it up by not fully understanding what level of detailing i'm aiming for.

So my questions are:

* how important is it to polish the car if you are wanting to wax it?
* I don't think i understand cut, why would you do this and do you have to have a degree of cut no matter how weak in order to correctly polish? This notion of cut is scaring the bejeebus out of me - it gets me thinking i'll just fubar the paint
* Could you just wash the car, clay the car, remove the clay and then just wax it? I appreciate that it wouldn't produce as good a finish as going through all the stages but would results be better than just simply washing?

I'd be doing all this by hand.

cheers  :happy2:

Offline JPC

• Just look at my post count
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 93
  • -Receive: 111
Re: Read the guide but still have questions
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2011, 11:34:41 am »
I never clay a car without polishing it afterwards, purely because if you clay a a car with a lot of contaminants, you are going to mar the paint finish slightly. I can argue this until the cows come home, people always say that it doesn't. But the people say it doesn't are doing it on the drive with not that much light available at all angles

Offline Frenzy

• Won't Shut up.
  • Thank You
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2011, 11:40:34 am »
Thanks JPC.