Make a donation

Author Topic: Audio upgrade help  (Read 2009 times)

Offline Alasdair

• Taking part
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 0
Audio upgrade help
« on: February 26, 2014, 08:38:55 pm »
Hey, I'm new to the vag world and after some help advise and pointed in the right direction..
I want to upgrade my head unit on the Ed 30, I was thinking an rcd 510 but I'm unsure on a few things.
1) is an rcd 510 a decent upgrade or is there anything else
2) I have heared that the gateway will need to be changed, what to and how do I find out what is suitable?
3) can the rcd 510 be out of any vw or does it have to be a golf?

Any help people would be really greatful

Offline TeighlorD7

• Taking part
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
    • Email
Re: Audio upgrade help
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2014, 10:11:09 pm »
I haven't long fitted the rcd 510 with DAB and it was such an improvement in sound over the rcd 300.

The gateway will most likely need changed on cars pre 2007 , mines cost £37 and a friend helped me code it. You can also get precoded ones for £80 or so

As for fit , mines fits my mk5 perfect . This would apply to all I would presume

Offline Alasdair

• Taking part
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2014, 06:33:39 am »
How did you know what gateway to buy if I went for an rcd510 with dab?
Would there be anything else I would need to convert it?

Offline dodds-gttdi

• Just look at my post count
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 22
  • -Receive: 34
  • Edinburgh
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2014, 08:25:47 am »
The general rule is that if your car is earlier than a '07' registration plate then you will most likely need a new CAN Gateway. Mk5 Golfs were fitted with gateways with the part number 1K0 907 530 followed by a letter revision, i.e. 1K0 907 530 L. If your car has a revision 'L' or earlier then it will suffer battery drain, caused by the radio not shutting off its supply from the battery.