Make a donation

Author Topic: Festool RO 150 - Opinions  (Read 2037 times)

Offline Mark_DF05

• Always Involved
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 23
  • -Receive: 8
Festool RO 150 - Opinions
« on: November 27, 2014, 08:32:28 am »
I've been wanting to buy a DAS 6 for sometime now but it keeps getting pushed back down the priority list, however I was round at my brothers house the other day and noticed that he had a Rotex RO 150 for work: https://www.festool.co.uk/Products/Pages/Product-Detail.aspx?pid=571808&name=Geared-eccentric-sander-ROTEX-RO-150-FEQ-Plus-GB-240V

I've done a search online and it seems a few detailers do use these and they're often highly rated by some people. Has anyone on here had any experience with them and would you recommend it for a beginner?

Offline AndyBrown

• Won't Shut up.
  • Thank You
  • -Receive: 17
    • Email
Re: Festool RO 150 - Opinions
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2014, 10:48:58 am »
I'm no expert and as a beginner I wouldn't use it.
Das6 is an orbital machine so there's less chance of damaging your paint work.
That one is a rotary so it spins on a fixed pivot and more chance of damaging your paint if you don't know what your doing.

This will explain it better than I can...
http://www.meguiarsonline.com/forums/showthread.php?12996-Rotary-Buffers-versus-Random-Orbital-Polishers

I got a das6 pro for £100 delivered from clean your car with a discount code.

Offline Alzak

• Always Involved
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 2
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2014, 11:48:43 am »
Got one bought with systainer kit and have to say is a really pleasure to work with this machine.

Offline Mark_DF05

• Always Involved
  • Thank You
  • -Receive: 8
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2014, 02:24:12 pm »